2 Comments

A Book Review?! Has Retrodragon Gone Crazy?

This blog is about video games. Past console RPG’s in particular. They are my number one hobby, and probably always will be, until either I complete them all (this will never happen) or my cats murder me (this is the more likely option). But I am forced to step outside of my area of focus in order to speak about something that absolutely must be discussed in the gaming community.

It is a book.

It is called Ready Player One, and it is written by Ernest Cline.

The book you will be recommending to all of your friends two weeks from now

The book you will be recommending to all of your friends two weeks from now

If you do not hate yourself, go and buy this book right now. (The Amazon link is posted on the bottom of the page)

Why should you purchase this lesser known title based on the comments of a cat loving freak who writes about nerdy video games on occasion?

Picture a story that combines all the best elements of The Matrix, Harry Potter, your favorite 80’s movie (I’ll go with Ferris Bueller’s Day Off) and music by Van Halen or Rush. Take all of these wonderful nerd-culture rights of passage and then imagine a book written by someone who clearly adores them, and wants to immerse you in 400 pages of nerd lore and great writing. The effortless way Cline integrates a fascinating Sci-Fi story line into your favorite pen and paper Dungeons and Dragons campaign, and combines it with a hero that flies an X-Wing will make you giggle like a kid watching Neon Genesis Evangelion for the first time (also in the book).

I don’t want to give away much as far as the actually story is concerned, because in some ways the whole point is for you to dig in and experience what Cline provides in a fresh way, without it being tainted by my crude synopsis. Suffice to say I read this book in 24 hours, something I haven’t done since the Deathly Hallows.

But the real reason Ready Player One is so fantastic goes deeper than all of the hilarious and captivating references littered on every page. He pulls you into concepts that make you ask bigger and deeper questions about relationships, social media, video game culture, and whether or not our relationship to digital media entertainment is healthy.

After reading Ready Player One you will just have to talk to someone about it. And I hope that person is me.

Amazon Link:

http://www.amazon.com/Ready-Player-One-A-Novel/dp/0307887448/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1360694297&sr=8-1&keywords=Ready+Player+One

2 comments on “A Book Review?! Has Retrodragon Gone Crazy?

  1. I’m starting this book right now! Can’t wait to chat with you about it.

  2. I can’t wait either! I’m really curious if it will resonate with a non-gamer who enjoys 80’s lore. I’m betting it will though. You will finally understand why I talk about crystals in my sleep…

Leave a Reply

